Derived from the core principles and teaching of Islam.
HALAL is an Arabic word that means “permissible” with its opposite being HARAM, “not permissible”.
All foods are considered halal except the following list.
- Pork and its by products
- Animals and its by products which NOT properly slaughtered
according to Islamic method / dead before slaughtering
- Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants
- Carnivorous animals and prey (eagle, etc.)
- Blood and blood by products
- Food contaminated with any materials from above categories
Foods containing ingredients such as gelatin, emulsifiers and enzymes are SYUBHAH (questionable/dubious) because the origin of these ingredients may be haram. Any product which does not clearly under Halal or Haram category is classified as SYUBHAH. Muslim should avoid consuming syubhah products.
Halal is a Way of Life
From your relationship with God, honoring your parent, respecting people, keeping your promise they are all choosing to be in the right path. This is where halal food and products come into consideration. Thus, halal foods mean any foods that are allowed to be eaten according to Islamic sharia law.
In general, food can be consumed by everyone. But Muslim can only consume Halal food. Same goes to the vegan. They can only eat vegetarian food. But other people can consume Halal and vegetarian foods too.
There is BIG misunderstanding regarding halal foods. People always thought that halal food can only be eaten by Muslim. But it is NOT TRUE! Have a try and you may find that halal food has the same taste as other foods. It is just how the food is processed and the included ingredients. MPJA is the leading halal certifying organization in Japan. Products certified by MPJA has been recognized by Department of Islamic Development Malaysia (JAKIM) and Majelis Ulama Indonesia (MUI). MPJA also a member of World Halal Food Council (WHFC). Please check here for details about the countries that recognized MPJA http://mpja.jp/faq/